I have never considered becoming a vegetarian, but after reading about Brazil’s “Tainted Meat Scandal” the idea seems pretty logical. And yes, the “Tainted Meat Scandal” is all over the international news. Shame on us! I found out that there are different kinds of vegetarians:
Vegans, who do not eat any meat, but also do not eat any dairy products or eggs or anything at all that comes from animals, and that means most chocolate!
Lacto-ovo Vegetarians, who eat both diary products and eggs, which means they can eat pizza.
Lacto-vegetarians, who eat dairy products but do not eat eggs
Ovo-vegetarians, who eat eggs but not dairy products
Note: Usually, the vegetarians who eat eggs will only eat free-range eggs, and avoid eggs from hen farms where the hens are raised in intensely confined spaces.
For us beginners, we could adopt a “flexitarian” diet, which is mostly vegetarian (meaning we try our best) but we can occasionally eat meat.
There are also people who call themselves “partial vegans” and they usually alternate months of being partial vegan and 100% vegan.
If it would help, change your religion. Many Hindus are vegetarians, as are many Buddhists and all Jains.
(Hinduism=a pre-Christian religion coming from diverse Indian cultures & traditions with no one founder known for belief in goals; Dharma, which is about ethics and duty, Artha, which is about prosperity & work, Kama, which is about desires & passions and Moksha, which is about liberation & freedom, karma, which is about intent and consequences, and much more.
(Buddhism=a pre-Christian religion founded in India mostly based on the teachings of Buddha. Buddhists are known for teaching morality, renunciation, non-possessiveness, meditation, compassion and cultivation of wisdom)
(Jainism=a pre-Christian Indian religion that teaches respect for all living creatures and greatly influenced Mahatma Gandhi. Followers take vows to practice non-violence, chastity, non-attachment, non-possessiveness and self-discipline)